Turkey Meatball Sub on a Stick

20140622-114121-42081511.jpg

Another recipe I found on Facebook, something I felt was a unique concept. Overall, it worked well although I made the meatballs bigger than they intended them to be (although I’m pretty sure they were 1″ big like it said) as I only had enough meatballs for 6 skewers rather than 12. But I went with it instead of reforming them all into more. It just meant that everyone took one skewer instead of two.

A note on the meatballs – I thought that I was putting quite a bit of seasoning in, but I felt like they came out a little bland. Plus, if you’ve ever used ground turkey (or chicken) you know it is kind of mushy. Not like beef which seems to still hold form even of it has been pushed in a bag and frozen.

When putting the meatballs together I did think that I had two much stuff – it is a more than a whole cup of stuff. But at then end it all mixed in very well.

So, the texture on the meatballs was different. They did take about 20 minutes to bake. I let it go a little bit longer than the 20 minutes, more for the breading part than being worried about the meatballs cooking. For marinara sauce, we used bottled pizza sauce. Worked ok.

1 lb ground turkey
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 TBSP dried oregano
1 TBSP dried basil
1 TBSP dried parsley
1/2 TSP crushed red pepper (I skipped this)
2 cloves garlic, minced (I used a 1/2 TBSP of dried garlic powder)
1 can Pillsbury Original Breadsticks
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
12 wooden skewers
Marinara sauce for dipping

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a bowl, combine turkey and all seasonings. Mix well and form into 1″ meatballs.

Open the can of breadsticks and, starting with the bread, thread on to the skewer, alternating bread and meatballs. Put three meatballs per skewer. Try to keep them spread out (about 1/4″ spacing) so that the meatballs will cook and the bread can expand.

Bake for about 20 minutes, until the meatballs are cooked through. Sprinkle cheese over the skewers and return to the oven for 2-3 minutes to melt the cheese.

Serve warm with marinara sauce for dipping.

This entry was posted in Turkey and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

