Creamy Sausage Casserole with Biscuits

20140530-045019-17419949.jpg

Often times, when we have company spending the night, one of our breakfast options always seems to be some kind of egg casserole. Therefore, when I came across this recipe, which sounded good, I saved it knowing sooner or later we’d have a time when we needed to make it. Didn’t read it too closely however.

I did start reading it more closely, and reading the comments on the recipe, once I had picked when I was going to make it. I hadn’t given it much thought. And it did call for an entire dozen eggs. Must be an egg casserole, right? But no. Sort of. Not quite. It is really more of a baked biscuits and gravy casserole with some eggs thrown in.

I’ll admit that I instantly had reservations about it. First, I can’t make biscuits and gravy. I don’t know what it is but it just doesn’t work for me. My wife is excellent at it so I just let her do it and have given up. Second, I really didn’t know about the whole egg thing. I mean, I don’t eat scrambled eggs with biscuits and gravy. And certainly not mixed in. I really gave it some thought on not doing it and just making something else. But, as I normally do with recipes I pick out, I got stubborn and was going to make it anyway and see what happens.

Boy am I glad I did. This was much, MUCH better than I expected it to be. And I’m ok with saying that as I did have some concerns (see previous paragraph). I can’t point out any one thing that made it great. It just was. I am a fan of biscuits and gravy so I think that helped but it was just great overall.

I did make a few tweaks. I used a pound of bulk sausage rather than cut up links. I left out the mushrooms. I used real bacon, chopped up. And probably more than the two ounces it called for. Definitely more. Since I only had a larger can (12 oz) of evaporated milk, I just measured it out for half of the can. And lastly, my package of biscuits (store brand) was 16 oz instead of 12 oz but it still covered it nicely.

Seems like a lot of things to change but really, except for leaving the mushrooms out, the changes were minor. Although, when eating it (and eating the leftovers) I felt like there was a maple syrup taste to it and I could quite place it. Then I realized that the bacon I had used was a maple smoked bacon. It was a good addition. Makes me wonder, if you didn’t have a maple bacon, if you could just drizzle some maple syrup in the dish before baking. Probably. Most likely. And definitely you could do so after the fact.

As for putting it together, I put about half of the gravy mix on the bottom, put all the eggs in and then poured the rest of the gravy on top. In one of the comments someone mentioned doing that as the eggs weren’t enough to cover the pan in layers anyways. Plus it was easier.

Oh and about cooking the eggs. That was a little hard. It says to cook them until ‘firm but still moist’. What the heck is that? So I guessed a little. Basically stopped it when I felt they were done but not as done as if I was making straight scrambled eggs.

And I mentioned leftovers. There was some left and it did warm up nicely in the microwave. No concerns over the biscuits getting dried out or anything.

In the end, it turned out well. My fears on not being able to make gravy were unfounded (at least on this recipe) and, although the eggs being part of it still is a bit different, it was good. Definitely have this on the list to make again.

This entry was posted in Bacon, Breakfast, Casserole, Pork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

