Rhubarb Coffee Cake

20140526-063434-23674160.jpg

After the last coffee cake I made, which I need to make more often, I came across this recipe for coffee cake. Someone had posted it in a cooking group I am a part of on Facebook. Seeing as how our one rhubarb plant is finally ready to be able to harvest and eat, AND, there were some to be picked, it seemed like a great thing to make.

Side note on this – this is, as others is, essentially cake. Cake you eat for breakfast. But no one says anything about it because you call it coffee cake. Just think if you pulled out a regular cake for breakfast. People would chastise you for eating cake. But you pull this out and say “don’t worry folks, this isn’t cake it’s COFFEE cake” then everything is right with the world.

Anyway, I digress. But an interesting point I think.

Aside from needing to chop up the rhubarb, this comes together fairly simply. I don’t know that I can call it as quick and easy as the other one, but it still didn’t take long on a Friday morning when I had to go to work. (Then again, you just have together up early enough to start it). The only change I made to the recipe was I used sour milk (1 TBSP lemon juice plus milk to make 1 cup) instead of buttermilk. But that’s what I normally do.

How did it taste? Super-freaking fantastic. I’m a fan of rhubarb and although I generally only eat it in something like rhubarb crisp, this was a very good use of it. So much so, that I had a few decent sized pieces and wound up taking more cause it was so good.

Highly recommend it.

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 1/4 cup sugar
1 egg
2 cups flour
1 TSP baking soda
1/2 TSP salt
1 cup buttermilk
1 TSP vanilla
2 cups rhubarb, chopped

Topping
1 TSP cinnamon
1/2 cup sugar
2 TBSP butter, softened

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×13 pan or 2 9″ round pans. I used the 9×13.

Cream butter and sugar together until light; beat in the egg. Whisk the dry ingredients together and add to the butter mixture, alternating with the buttermilk. Fold in the vanilla and rhubarb. Pour into prepared pan.

Combine the butter, cinnamon and sugar until crumbly. Sprinkle over the batter.

Bake for 30-40 minutes. For me, 30 minutes was perfect.

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

