Cowboy Coffee Cake

20140520-053514-20114388.jpg

While there are not many meals or specific foods that I remember from my childhood, this is one that sticks out in my mind. This is a great coffee cake. Maybe I’m biased but I love it. It’s great warm out if the oven with a little (or a lot) of butter smeared on each piece you cut out. I typically cut it in squares but I suppose you could cut it other ways. I’ll try to resist telling you it has to be cut that way. But it should be.

For the texture it is a nice soft cake, not dense. If you talk about the “crumb” (I think I know enough to be dangerous) I would say that it is somewhat delicate but it won’t fall apart on you. At least it shouldn’t. Over time I’ve baked this with varying degrees of success. It seems that some times it is a little more done (a darker bottom that sticks to the pan) with a darker top and other times it comes out less done. In comparison. Always do the toothpick test. Oven temps and times vary I guess.

I will admit that for as great as this is I don’t make it all that often. I should but that’s just the way it works out. And I’m not really sure why it is called cowboy coffee cake instead of just coffee cake. There is probably some special reason but I got nothing on that.

The recipe I have is for two pans but this last time I cut it in half to only make one. What I’m listing below is for one pan. If you want to make two, you can double it. I’ve found, as with most things (and I’ve posted about it before) that making less of each dish usually works out the best. Leftovers are great and are a staple for lunch each day but you can get overwhelmed with too many leftovers.

And one last note – it only takes a few minutes to put together and only bakes for 30 minutes. It is any easy thing to throw together for breakfast in the morning or, if you have people coming over (announced or unannounced) you can easily make it for them. The ingredient list is such that you should have everything on hand.

1 1/4 cup flour
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 TSP salt
1/3 cup shortening
1 TBSP baking powder
1/4 TSP baking soda
1/4 TSP cinnamon
1/8 TSP nutmeg
1/2 cup milk
1 egg

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix flour, sugar and salt in a bowl. Cut in shortening until crumbly. Reserve 1/4 cup of the mixture. To the remaining mixture, add the baking powder, baking soda and spices. Add milk and egg mixing well. Pour into a greased 8″ or 9″ round cake pan. Sprinkle reserved mix on top. Bake for 30 minutes.

Serve warm with butter. (Serving cooled also works)

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

