Ocean Perch with a Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce and Bacon Wrapped Asparagus

20140519-052045-19245101.jpg

We don’t do fish that often in our house. Not that no one likes it (well, the kids aren’t fond of it) but it’s just something that we don’t have as part of our rotation. But every once and awhile we try something. So this was our most recent “try”. I say “try” as I was the only one who liked it.

More than anything it was probably the type of fish I used – ocean perch – than anything. The cream sauce was good, nothing odd or weird about that. Not spicy or anything. But the ocean perch was a change from the normal cod or tilapia that we get. And it was on purpose. I wanted something different. So……lesson learned. I grew up eating more fish, and different kinds of fish so I guess I’m just a little more used to it.

Anyway, as I mentioned, the cream sauce was good and in fact, as I sit here right now, I wonder what other uses for the sauce I could come up with. I’m sure there is something.

Overall, for me, it wasn’t bad. I do question the method for cooking the fish, as the dressing and onions are merely a layer of flavor rather than part of the finished dish. I’m sure there are ways to cook it with a similar result. The flour on the fish as well wasn’t that great either. In fact, I only put it on one side.

For the side, we had some asparagus that we had been given that we needed to eat. While I’ve used it in many different ways I decided this time to simply wrap it in bacon (not thick cut) and cook it in the oven. It spent quite awhile in the oven (400 degrees) and I wound up finishing it by the broiler for a few minutes on each side. And then even then, it wasn’t quite as crisp as I might have liked it. This further proves my theory that the time needed to cook bacon in the oven increases exponentially when you wrap it around something. But it was still great. It is bacon after all.

In closing, a good dish but the choice of fish probably determines the ultimate outcome more than anything else.

1 lb white fish (cod, tilapia)
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup Italian dressing
1/2 cup slides onions
2 oz softened cream cheese
1/4 cup roasted red peppers
1/4 cup chicken broth
1 garlic clove, peeled

Coat both sides of the fish in flour. Heat dressing in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add onions, cook and stir for 5 minutes. Add the fish, cooking for about 5-7 minutes on each side, or until done.

Meanwhile, put the remaining ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Pour into a small sauce pan. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes stirring occasionally. (it will thicken)

Serve sauce over fish.

This entry was posted in Bacon, Seafood, Vegetable and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

