Smoked Sausage-Bean Stew

20140516-050122.jpg

This recipe comes from someone who posted it in a cooking group I’m part of on Facebook. I think it was something he created, maybe that day he posted it. At least it seemed like it. And, I thought it sounded interesting enough to try. Cue another reason why I have so many recipes to make.

The only change I made was the type of sausage I used. He had listed ‘6 German sausages’ where I just used a package of smoked sausage. To be honest, I wasn’t quite sure what kind of sausage that might be and choose to not do any research. In hindsight, while the smoked sausage was good, using another kind of sausage, maybe even just a pound of bulk pork sausage would be better. Since the sausage is already cooked, browning it with the garlic didn’t do much. Another type of sausage would actually need browning and would work with the garlic.

That being said, it was fairly good. The guy made the comment when he posted it that it wasn’t too bad for something made from cans. I have to agree. It was a little bean heavy for my tastes however. But that wasn’t a total deal breaker. When I took it out of the oven it had a particular smell to it, that was familiar, but I still quite can’t put my finger on what it reminded me of. It was a good smell, maybe something to do with the pineapple, I don’t know.

The best part was that the girls, almost 6 and 4, at it without any issues, comments, etc. That was actually a bit surprising. But I’ll take it.

One last thing. I tried to stick it all in a 2 1/2 quart casserole dish and that size is way to small. I did wind up pulling my big Dutch oven out and using it (I was avoiding that for some reason). So keep that in mind when putting it all together.

A pound of sausage (your choice on what)
1 can pineapple chunks
1 can diced tomatoes
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
2 cans kidney beans, drained and rinsed
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 TBSP oil

Put the oil in a large Dutch oven. Add the garlic and cook for 30 seconds. Add the sausage. If using uncooked sausage, cook up until done if using smoked sausage, cook for a few minutes to brown it a bit and heat it up.

Add the pineapple and tomatoes, with the juices, into the Dutch oven. Add the beans. Season to taste with pepper and stir everything together. (I didn’t add any extra salt as I felt there was probably enough already considering everything came from cans.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 35 minutes.

This entry was posted in Pork, Soup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

