Chicken Carbonara Risotto

20140514-053400.jpg

First, a confession……..it’s not really risotto. I know, I know. It’s called risotto and looks like risotto but, alas, it’s not actually risotto. So what is it? Simple white rice. Now, I know what you may be thinking (not really but it sounds good, right?) – why not actually make risotto? Well, I certainly could. I have before. (See examples here and here.) But, that was not the recipe and, well, this isn’t meant to be risotto. It’s meant to be a quick, easy weeknight dish that mimics risotto. And I think it does a pretty good job.

The only changes I made to this was to use the meat from chicken legs rather than chicken breasts. Because, after all this meal planning, I didn’t have any chicken breasts in the house. Go figure. So I thawed out two pounds of chicken legs and cut the meat off. I figured that would be close to an actual pound of meat. However, I’m not sure I actually recommend doing that. It tasted fine, don’t get me wrong but it was a lot of work getting the meat off of the legs and getting it cut up. It greatly increased the time it was taking me to make this. In fact, the recipe said 10 minutes of time. It took me longer than that to get the meat off the bones.

Overall it was a nice filling meal. A ‘stick-to-your-ribs’ kind of deal. Worked out really well and, yes, if following them recipe exactly, would be quick to make.

1 TBSP oil
1 lb chicken breasts, cut into bit sized pieces
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 cup frozen peas
1 1/2 cups milk
2 cups instant white rice
1/4 cup chopped, cooked bacon
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Cook chicken until done, about 4-5 minutes. Add the soup, peas and milk. Bring to a boil. Stir in rice; cover. Reduce heat to medium low and simmer for 5 minutes. Stir in bacon and Parmesan cheese.

Boom. Done. Quick and easy. (And tasty)

This entry was posted in Chicken and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

