Vanilla Custard

20140513-182623.jpg

When you make an angel food cake, from scratch, as I did over the weekend, you need egg whites. And when you use egg whites you are left with…….? Anyone? Egg yolks! Right! So…what do you do with the egg yolks? I suppose that you could just cook them for breakfast, maybe adding them to other eggs. Or you could make custard.

I made a custard awhile back that turned out really well so I thought that I could do it again. This time though, I wanted something more basic. I googled ‘vanilla custard’ and started reading through recipes. After all, what’s more vanilla, I mean basic, than vanilla custard? I finally settled on this one because, well, it sounded really cool. The downside was that it had everything in grams and milliliters but I figured that I could make the conversions easily enough.

Plus since it was “cool” (read, complicated with lots of steps), I had to try it. We even have the rhubarb growing in the backyard (and it’s ready). But, long story short, I just made the custard.

In the end I didn’t want to take all the time to make everything else, plus I kind of wanted to save the rhubarb for something else like a crisp or a pie. Not boiling it away to nothing just to use the juice.

So I set out to make the custard only. The milliliters were easy enough as I had a measuring cup that included that measurement. I did the weight conversions and used the scale to weigh it out. I contemplated buying a digital scale that would measure in grams but decided it wasn’t worth it, at least for now.

In place of the caster sugar, which I read online was just really fine sugar, I used regular white sugar. I thought about grinding it up but wasn’t sure what that would get me. An easier dissolve? I don’t know.

I was going to buy vanilla beans but couldn’t bring myself to spend the money. Instead, I used 3 TBSP of vanilla extract. That was more than I had planned but I wasn’t really paying attention when I poured it. I was thinking about how 3 TSP equals 1 TBSP and I wanted to double it. Anyway.

I had doubled the recipe as I had used 9 eggs in the angel food cake and doubling it would use up most of them. The only downside of this is that it is fairly time consuming and it does require extra effort in tempering the eggs so it doesn’t curdle.

Following the directions, I didn’t use a water bath and let them go for the allotted time. The centers weren’t fully set but I thought they might after sitting cooling for a bit. I couldn’t remember the last time I had made them, nor did I look it up to see what I may have written. After they cooled a bit I put a cover on them and put them in the fridge.

Taking one to work today for lunch, when it took the cover off, it was a soupy mess. It still tasted great but I drank it, more than I ate it. I thought maybe it had to do with sitting in the lunch box but didn’t think it would have that much of a problem. So, when I came home I looked at another. A little more solid but a soupy center. I guess I needed to let them cook longer.

Oh well. Honestly, I only made it as I had the egg yolks. This wasn’t something I was just going to do for kicks. So, in the future I will make sure that the centers are fully set before taking them out of the oven.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vanilla Custard

  1. simplydelish says:

    Nice, I’ve always been wondering what to do with my extra egg yolks. Especially with those recipes that use so many egg whites!

Leave a Reply

