Sautéed Cauliflower Rice

20140501-054405.jpg

Every once and awhile I will come across a recipe or article or something that talks about how you can use cauliflower in place of things like potatoes or rice. To be honest, I haven’t given them much thought as I don’t see anything wrong with potatoes or rice to begin with. But, I like to try new things so when I came across this recipe for cauliflower rice, I decided to give it a try.

While I didn’t expect it to be difficult, it is pretty darn simple. All you need to do is cut up the head of cauliflower into smaller pieces and run them through the food processor until it is broken up into tiny little pieces. Much like rice would be. From there you can cook it how ever you like, steam it or sauté it or whatever.

I opted for sautéing it. Steaming would have been fine but I thought sautéing it would add some extra flavor as it would be easier to add to it. Mine never got really brown or golden but it did soften up. I was concerned about cooking too long but I didn’t have that problem.

For the flavor, I was just going to go with a few shakes of the pepper shaker along with a few healthy (big) shakes of the garlic salt but then I decided to add a little lime juice as well. Like the recipe suggested. That may have been too much. I won’t say it was bad, but I either used a little too much lime juice or it just wasn’t good to add it. To me, while it tasted okay, it threw the flavor off. Maybe it would have worked better if it was paired with something that the lime juice could compliment. We just had some Johnsonville Apple Chicken Sausage cut up.

Something to maybe try again. Outside of having to then clean the food processor (rinse it out good if you are putting it in the dish washer) it was super simple. May need to try mashed or au gratin next.

This entry was posted in Side Dishes, Vegetable and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

