One Pan Taco Dinner

20140428-165748.jpg

I may have mentioned in a previous post that tacos are one of my favorite foods (or not, it’s hard to remember) and Mexican in general is pretty good. So the recipe for a one pan taco dinner/casserole caught my eye.

Sadly, it didn’t turn out as amazing as I thought it might. Really, all it is is one pound of ground beef, browned with the appropriate amount of taco seasoning (one packet or measure it out if you have a large container like we do). Add two cups of water and two cups of white minute rice and let it simmer for about 5 minutes. Then top with your choice of toppings.

That’s it.

I added some black olives (the girls love them), shredded cheddar cheese, queso fresco, and some cilantro. It wasn’t too bad. I added some taco sauce to my plate and it made it better. Later, eating it for leftovers, it was rather dry and it needed something extra. Maybe some sour cream or more taco sauce.

But it just didn’t “wow” me as I was hoping it would. I suppose that it might depend on how you top it and what you do with it but I may just stick with regular tacos.

This entry was posted in Beef, Casserole and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

