Supper

20140426-064145.jpg

While at my grandma’s last weekend, I made a comment about needing to find a recipe for something. Not sure what it was but next thing I know, I’m being handed this old church cookbook and being told I should look in there. I didn’t really need the cookbook (the internet exists) and I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to find what I was looking for in there but I paged through it for a bit. Old cookbooks like that are great. Full of recipes made by little old ladies or recipes that people got from their own grandparents, etc.

The downside of these cookbooks I’ve found (and I own many) are that the directions are sometimes lacking. Take this one for example. The instructions were a few short sentences that seemed to leaders out some of the ingredients listed, unless you made some assumptions. Which I did, but I think I still might have done it “wrong”.

Anyway, more on that in a minute. This recipe caught my eye because of the name. It is called “supper”. I think that is great as it allows me to be a bit snarky when asked what I’m making without actually being untruthful. So what is it exactly? I’d describe it as a cheesy hamburger helper type dish. And it was great. Absolutely great. Which further proves that these old cookbooks are full of great food.

Now to the actual recipe –

1 lb ground beef
1/2 cup diced onion
1/2 cup diced green pepper
1 (6 oz) can tomato paste
1 1/2 TSP salt
1/2 TSP garlic salt
1/4 TSP black pepper
3/4 cup water
3/4 cup milk
2 cups cooked curly noodles (I used egg noodles)
1/2 cup shredded cheese
3 oz cream cheese

Brown the hamburger. When almost done, add the onion and green pepper and cook until hamburger is done and the onion and pepper have softened a bit. Add the tomato paste, water, milk and seasonings. Stir to combine. Let simmer for 5 minutes. Add the noodles. Dot with the cubed cream cheese, sprinkle with shredded cheese. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes. Stir to combine everything once you take it out of the oven.

Okay — those directions are how I ended up making it. The original directions actually made no mention of the milk or the cream cheese. I added the milk at the same time as the water (seemed to make sense). I dotted the cream cheese, thinking it would melt with the rest of the cheese – wrong. Which is why I then had to stir to combine. My recommendation would be to add the cream cheese when you do the milk and let it combine and simmer. Or after the noodles and do the same thing.

I also made this using a cast iron skillet (which is all we use for skillets) so I just combined everything in that pan and stuck it in the oven. Depending on what you use, you may need to transfer to another dish to bake. I was going to do that in the first place but chose not to in the end.

I did make a few tweaks, so to speak. I didn’t measure out the onion or the green pepper so I may have had more than 1/2 cup of each. I just used a small onion and half a green pepper. I also cut the salt back to 1 TSP as it also had garlic salt. I’ve done that lately in some recipes, not to be health conscious but it seems redundant.

This will go on the list to make again. It was really good. I was worried about how thick (or not) it would be given all the liquid but it came together nicely and was actually pretty thick. I think the cream cheese had a lot to do with that.

Score another one for old church cookbooks.

This entry was posted in Beef, Casserole, Pasta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

