Lemon Pull Apart Coffee Cake

20140425-050948.jpg

Over Easter weekend, my brother and sister-in-law had brought a cooking magazine with them that had a recipe for one of the dishes they were going to make for the big meal on Sunday. I got to flipping through it and next thing I know, I’ve taken about a dozen pictures of recipes I liked. See what I mean about when I “binge” on recipes? Now I’ve them all on my phone and have to figure out when I’m going to make all of them in and amongst all the other recipes I’ve got floating around.

This one was interesting to me as I have tried to make monkey bread (cut up biscuits tossed with sugar and baked in a bundt pan) and it never turns out. Never. Ever. It usually doesn’t bake right in the middle which leaves me with a burnt outside and it sticks to the pan. This recipe was similar but used a shallow, round 9″ pan. Seemed like that would be an easier option for making sure it baked properly.

The recipe had a note next to it from someone who said it was a nice quick thing to throw together if you have company suddenly drop by. I would agree that it was easy to throw together (15 minutes tops) and quick to bake but that assumes you always have all the ingredients on hand. Generally speaking, we don’t always have refrigerated biscuits in the house and that is kind of crucial for this recipe. But I will say that, with the exception of the biscuits, I did have everything.

I did increase the quantities listed below slightly. It called for a 12 oz tube of biscuits and I, without paying any attention, grabbed a tube of jumbo biscuits which wound up being 16 oz. not a big deal but I tried to up the rest of the ingredients a bit to compensate. Also, it called for golden raisins and the store was out of them. I found a small package of “baking raisins” which were supposed to be more moist for baking. I could have just soaked some regular raisins that we had at home but sometimes I’m a sucker for novelty food stuff.

Oh, and I used dried lemon peel and lemon juice from a bottle. The recipe didn’t state to use fresh but I usually assume that when it calls for lemon peel it means fresh. I suppose you could buy a lemon, grate the peel and then squeeze some juice out. Sometimes though, it is just easier to use the dried and the bottled juice.

It turned out very well and tasted great. I’m always not sure what it will taste like (I assume it will be good) but this was really good. I let it bake for about 23 minutes. A 20 minutes it didn’t quite seem ready. In the end, the edges that were in the pan were a little crunchy. I probably should have just taken it out at 20. I was watching the top, not thinking about the bottom, which became the top after flipping it. It didn’t stick to the pan but some of the sugar, etc. was stuck to the pan.

1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1/4 cup golden raisins
2 TBSP butter, melted
2 TSP grated lemon peel (I used 1 TSP dried lemon peel)
1 tube (12 oz) refrigerated buttermilk biscuits
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 TBSP lemon juice

In a large bowl mix the first five ingredients. Cut each biscuit into four pieces and toss in the sugar mixture. Pour into a greased 9″ round pan. Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes. While baking, make the glaze by combining the powdered sugar and lemon juice.

When done, immediately invert the coffee cake on to a plate and drizzle the glaze over the top.

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

