Lemon Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

20140423-052313.jpg

Over the weekend, since I was using a lot of fresh rosemary, a conversation started about cookies that use rosemary. Something like that. I’m not actually sure exactly how it started or why it started but it did make me Google a recipe to try. I wasn’t really interested in making them, but I was curious and needed something else to make to keep using the rosemary before I had to toss it (which a few days earlier I had tossed a whole bunch of fresh herbs that were not so fresh anymore.

Confession – after making them and trying them, I didn’t like them.

I think they turned out just fine, there were no issues with the recipe or anything like that. I just didn’t like the taste. And my wife didn’t like them either. She thought they were too strong, which I am inclined to agree with. And from my perspective, there was no lemon taste. It was just a strong rosemary taste. About the only thing I can think of would be to cut back the rosemary a bit and/or make sure that it is finely minced. That would allow it to incorporate more and spread out. I don’t think I had issues with that but I could have chopped it up more.

Using a 3″ round cutter, I did get 20 cookies out of it which is what the recipe said it would make. I had a few scraps leftover which might have resulted in another cookie or two but at that point I just tossed it.

It does call for baking them for 10-12 minutes but I baked each pan for 16 minutes and they still didn’t really brown or anything like that. I could have probably left them go longer but I felt like I was taking a big chance where suddenly they would all be too hard and dried out.

Luckily the recipe didn’t make that many, and I think I have plenty of people who would want to try these that I won’t have to eat anymore of them.

Lemon Rosemary Shortbread

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lemon Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

  1. Pingback: Crispy Maple Oatmeal Cookies | A Casual Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

