Birdseed Salad

20140401-174809.jpg

A week or so ago we had some friends over for dinner and we were trying to think of “different” sides to make to go along with the meal. Not that we are that boring where we make the same things over and over and over again but we needed something a little out if the ordinary. Enter the birdseed salad.

Now, I’m not quite sure why it is called this, other than I suppose it might look a little like there is birdseed in it. I suppose.

Reading through the recipe card we had, obtained from a friend, it didn’t seem to make a lot of sense. The quantities didn’t really match up. It called for only a cup each of broccoli and cauliflower to go along with a full cup of mayo and other stuff. First, that wasn’t a very big quantity to make for a side and second, it seemed to be really heavy on the dressing to other ingredients ratio.

Since we had a bunch of people coming over, I knew that I was going to use the entire heads of cauliflower and broccoli. As a result, I thought that I might need to increase the dressing. Each head was a little more than 5 cups. So I did. I doubled the dressing and put everything together. It may have been a bit much. It wasn’t a soupy mess but I might have gotten away with only one of the dressing or at least one and a half times it. I probably should have started with one and increased if needed.

But, it still tasted great. In fact, one of our guests made the comment as he was taking more “I don’t know what’s in here but it’s good”.

Here is the recipe as I made it. Simple math can tell you what to do to decrease the dressing if you so choose. If (when) I make it again, I will likely start small and work up.

1 head of broccoli, florets cut off, about 5 cups
1 head of cauliflower, florets cut off, about 5 cups
1 small onion, finely diced
1 1/2 cups sunflower seeds
1 1/2 cups raisins
1 lb bacon, cooked to your liking (but not burnt, please), chopped
2 cups mayo
6 TBSP white vinegar
1 cup white sugar

Mix the first six ingredients together in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, mix the remaining ingredients together. Pour into the large bowl and stir to combine and evenly coat.

This entry was posted in Side Dishes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

