Red Velvet Puppy Chow, Take II

20140319-133406.jpg

In my first attempt at this, found here, I referenced a few possible improvements namely trying to cut back on the white chocolate taste (which was pretty strong) while increasing the red velvet feel to it.

So in making this batch, I cut the white chocolate back to 1/2 cup while increasing the milk chocolate to 3/4 cup to keep the same amount of chocolate. I also continued to use powdered sugar but only added 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup.

The white chocolate taste definitely went away. I can’t say for sure that I increased the red velvet aspect but having less powdered sugar, made it more red than white in color. I suppose that did it in and of itself, but I don’t necessarily feel like it was that different from a taste perspective.

From a looks perspective, I think it looked better. That or I just took a better picture. I think this way is the better way to go if you would make it but it still isn’t at the top of my list for a type of puppy chow.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Red Velvet Puppy Chow, Take II

  1. Pingback: Lemon Puppy Chow | A Casual Foodie's Blog

  2. Pingback: Lemon Puppy Chow | A Casual Foodie's Blog

  3. Pingback: Puppy Chow | A Casual Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

