BBQ Chicken Spaghetti

20140313-054645.jpg

Once upon a time, when I found a recipe I liked I’d write it down on a card and put it in a box. Whether I made it or not, in the box it went. While there are something’s in there that I haven’t made, it does serve as a good resource.

So after buying a whole roasted chicken in order to make this mac and cheese and then this one I still had some left over that I needed to use up. Into the box I went.

While there were several choices, I settled on this on partly as I wasn’t sure if I had ever made it and it was something different. And I already had everything for it which made it even better. Now, I’m not sure where the recipe came from as that was a downfall of mine in writing the recipe cards. I rarely wrote where it came from.

It was a decent dish, in the end, although it was nearly a disaster. As I started putting it together (and far enough along to not be able to really stop) I found that I did not have a can of diced tomatoes. Really?!?!?!?! How did I not have one? The last time I checked, I was sure that I had not only one but a whole bunch of cans. What to do?

I dug around and around in the cupboards not finding anything in thought I could use and I was just about to double the amount if tomato paste and “deal with it” when I found a jar of mild salsa. That might work. Salsa has tomatoes, right? After staring at the ingredient list for a minute I decided, why not? Although it had some other stuff in it (jalapeños) it was pretty close to what I needed. I decided that a cup was pretty close to the size of the can.

Pouring it in to the measuring cup proved a little difficult as it didn’t come out nice and easy so a little more than a cup wound up in the pot. The next issue was with the BBQ sauce. I thought I had a cup left in the bottle but it turned out to be only a half a cup. In looking through the cupboard I of course didn’t have another bottle of that type of BBQ sauce. It wound up being a mixture of Sweet Baby Rays Honey bbq sauce and Kraft’s Thick Brown Sugar.

In the end it turned out but was pretty thick and rich. And there was a lot. It seemed like there was the equivalent of a jar of spaghetti sauce when looking at the recipe but it turned out to be more. Maybe it was partly because I just wound up putting the whole jar (16 oz) of salsa in but it wasn’t that much more than a 14 oz can of tomatoes. Need to make some more pasta to use up the rest of the sauce. It could have used more chicken as well, but that may have been due to the amount of sauce it wound up making.

Spaghetti (a half box wasn’t enough)
1 small onion, diced
2 TBSP oil
1 clove garlic, chopped
1 16oz jar mild salsa
1 can tomato paste
1/4 cup sugar
1 TBSP dried oregano
1 TBSP dried basil
1 cup bbq sauce
1 1/2 TSP salt
1 cup chopped roasted chicken

Cook pasta according to directions. Drain and set aside.

Heat oil in a pan. Cook the onion and garlic for 3-4 minutes. Add tomatoes and paste. Simmer for 5 minutes. Stir in oregano, basil, sugar BBQ sauce and salt. Simmer another 5 minutes. Remove from heat and blend with a stick blender or pour into a blender. Add chicken. Serve sauce over spaghetti.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Pasta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

