Nutella Swirled Peanut Butter Chip Blondies

20140311-054515.jpg

Confession – up until this point I had never tried Nutella. I don’t know how big of a deal that is but I know a few people who swear by it. But it’s just not something that I’ve ever had a need to try. Until this recipe came along.

And it was good. Not mind-blowing, life changing good but still pretty darn good.

I can’t remember exactly how what I was searching for or looking at online when I came across this recipe, maybe it was leftover from the red velvet recipes I was looking at a few weeks ago. Either way, I got stuck in this loop of finding all these dessert recipes, a lot from this same blog. This one stuck out probably because of the Nutella and partly from the quantity it made.

Since I talk a lot about cutting recipes in half and such, I was happy to see that this only made an 8×8 pan. Now, making a lot of food isn’t bad but as I’ve stated before, we don’t eat that much, especially with two little kids and it gets hard to eat leftovers day after day after day after day after, well, you get the idea.

As far as making them goes, it was super simple to put together. It does come together, in one bowl (no mixer needed) in 5 minutes or so. Putting the Nutella on top was a little more challenging. It wasn’t as liquid-y as it probably needed to be for me to easily pour it in lines but I managed to get three decent lines and then ran a knife the other way to create a little design. But you can do whatever you want with it. I didn’t measure it out so I’m not sure exactly how much Nutella went on it.

I baked them for 20 minutes, checked them and the put them in for another 5 minutes. At that point the edges were browning so I took them out. A toothpick did come out clean so they were “done”. The interesting part, however, was that the middle was still “underdone”. Now, I like a nice, gooey, not quite cooked cookie/brownie/whatever (middle, please, no edge pieces for me). But, not quite everyone does. So I just thought it was interesting that the center still wasn’t quite “done” bit the toothpick came out clean. Just FYI if/when you make these.

The only deviation from the recipe was that my bag of peanut butter chips also had milk chocolate chips. Worked just fine. And, for anyone opposed to peanut butter (allergies or whatever) I’m sure it would work just fine with only milk chocolate chips.

And this goes well with ice cream.

Nutella Swirled Peanut Butter Chip Blondies

This entry was posted in Brownies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

