Mac and Cheese with Roasted Chicken, Goat Cheese and Rosemary

20140310-191803.jpg

This was yet another one of those mac and cheese recipes that I found with all the other ones (3 down, 1 to go). This one comes from Chef Michael Symon. I haven’t made too many things from him and didn’t pick it because of that, just that it sounded good.

The first time I found this recipe I had copied and pasted it from a web page into an email. After looking at it a few times I realized that there was a link I had copied and decided to open the website rather than saving the email. (You don’t want to know how many websites are open on my phone and iPad. The website was some page linked from a morning talk show (with a video that wasn’t that much help in explaining it) plus the recipe.

I tell you all this to tell you that I can’t remember what kind of directions the first one had (what I copied into the email) but I thought that the recipe directions on the website were a little off. The biggest thing was simmer everything together (minus the pasta) for 30 minutes after you had already let it reduce.

As a result, I’m just re-typing the recipe here and everyone can know it came from Michael Symon originally.

Now, to the actual recipe, it was fantastic. It worked out well to make it as I had leftover roasted chicken. I didn’t expect it to be bad but it turned out a lot better than expected. It was just good overall but I think the goat cheese really made it. It’s a little hard to explain but it’s one of those dishes that just tasted good and you can’t pinpoint it on an one thing.

And I did manage to find actual goat cheese at my regular store, which was good as I thought that I might have to use feta. That wouldn’t necessarily have been bad but it wouldn’t have been authentic.

As far as making it, I did make some adjustments to the timing. I did let the cream reduce and did let it simmer for about 10 minutes with the chicken in there but not as long as it had said in the one recipe. I also cut the recipe in half since we just didn’t need as much as the whole recipe made. Maybe if we had friends over but not just us.

The only downside was that when I re-heated leftovers the cream separated or something and I had what looked like oil in the bowl. But it still tasted good. Probably just not that healthy. Oh and it might have worked better to put it in a bowl (at least for picture purposes) that a plate. Presentation counts.

Here is the full recipe.

1 pound rigatoni
1 quart heavy cream
2 TBSP fresh chopped rosemary
1 cup (8 oz) goat cheese
2 cups shredded roasted chicken
Salt and pepper to taste

Cook pasta according to directions. Drain and set aside.

While pasta is cooking heat the cream and rosemary over medium heat until to a gentle simmer. Simmer until reduced by about half. Add the chicken and bring back to a simmer. Simmer until the chicken is heated through. Season as needed with salt and pepper.

Add the pasta and goat cheese to the cream mixture and stir until cheese is melted.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Mac and Cheese and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mac and Cheese with Roasted Chicken, Goat Cheese and Rosemary

  1. Pingback: BBQ Chicken Spaghetti | A Casual Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

