Homemade Chicken Nuggets

20140307-174405.jpg

I hadn’t planned on posting about this since I didn’t think it was that big of a deal but then I decided that it was still something I made, from scratch and kind of created myself.

Somehow we wound up with an abundance of food that needed to be made (and not enough time to make it all it seemed) including some chicken breasts that had been thawed. I spent a fair amount of time looking through recipes trying to find something “different” to make with them. Then I decided to google homemade chicken strips and see what I could find. After reading a few recipes I figured I could handle it and put together my own breading.

The breading was –

1 cup bread crumbs
1 TSP garlic powder
1/4 TSP salt
1/4 TSP ground black pepper

I think it turned out well although I couldn’t really discern the garlic powder. Might need to add some more if you really want that flavor to come out.

For the chicken, I cut it into small, narrow strips for not only easy of eating but ease of cooking. I tried to get them as uniform as possible for even cooking. I was being a little paranoid about them cooking so I let them go for 20 minutes in a 375 degree oven. Might have been overkill but I wanted to be sure they were done. And they turned out nicely. They even lasted a day or so in the fridge and were okay warmed back up.

This entry was posted in Chicken and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

