Buffalo Burgers with Blue Cheese Slaw

20140219-171022.jpg

This past weekend the rest of the family was out of town, leaving me home by myself for a few days. I thought that it would be a perfect opportunity to make a few recipes that had been sitting around that only I would eat. This was one.

Originally billed as “sliders” making 8 mini burgers out of 1 1/2 pounds of meat, I opted to make 3 of my normal 1/3 pound burgers out of 1 pound of meat. I figured that this would be easier in general and from a leftover standpoint as well. And, while I really wanted to shovel off the deck to grill them, the fact that we got another 6″ of snow on Friday (I made these Saturday) on top of everything else we had already gotten, dampened my motivation. So I cooked them in a cast iron skillet on the stove. Still worked well although they wound up being more medium rare than well done. (I can be impatient) But, I like a little moo in my steaks so a little in the burger was fine with me. Plus, I’m the only one eating them so……….

The rest I left the same. I was hesitant to add more blue cheese to the dressing as I had bought “chunky” dressing but I did anyway and it was fine. I always get blue cheese when eating wings but other times I have it, like on steaks, it can be a little much so I wasn’t sure. Turned out to be fine.

And speaking of that, the slaw was EXCELLENT. In fact, since I have leftover coleslaw (plain) I think I might make just the slaw and eat it as a side with other things.

So the first time I ate this I used a bun (obviously, just look at the picture) but the next two times I did I went “low carb” (no bun). The first time was accidental, I forgot to pack a bun in my lunch when I went to work. So I just piled the rest on and ate it with a spoon. Worked so well I did it again, this time on purpose, the next day.

That’s it in a nutshell. I had plenty of sauce and slaw for the three big burgers and not any leftover so it worked out. This also worked well from the perspective that the sauce and slaw can be made ahead of time and saved until later. It makes for an easier meal prep.

Here is the recipe as I made it. If you want to do sliders, increase the meat to 1 1/2 pounds and make eight of them. Just fine some small buns or baguettes.

1/4 cup buffalo sauce (whatever you like)
1/4 cup mayo
2 cups shredded slaw mix
1/2 cup blue cheese dressing
1/4 cup blue cheese crumbles
1 lb ground beef
Buns or bread of your choice

In a small bowl, mix buffalo sauce and mayo. Refrigerate until needed.

In another bowl, mix slaw, dressing and blue cheese. Keep mixing until it’s all combined. It took awhile for me and for awhile I thought I might have to add more dressing. But it was enough to begin with. Refrigerate until needed.

Place ground beef in a bowl. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Form 3 patties, 1/3 lb each. Cook on a grill or in a pan until done, turning once.

Place hamburger on bun. Top with sauce and slaw.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

