Beer Bread

20140217-054435.jpg

At some point in the last few weeks, this small scrap of paper, with a very short recipe on it for beer bread, appears on the counter. Somewhere my wife came across it and tore it out. Which is fine by me. I’m a big fan of bread, and beer, so I was certainly open to making it. And it only had four ingredients. Simple.

So I found time to make it. Only made one small tweak – it called for 5 TBSP of sugar but if you think about it you will figure out that 5 1/3 TBSP of sugar equals 1/3 cup. Or look it up which is what I had to do since I couldn’t remember exactly what the measurement was. But I knew it was something like that. So I used 1/3 cup of sugar. I figured that the extra 1/3 TBSP wouldn’t make a big deal.

How did it turn out? Really good. Although I think I need to make it again, this time minus the butter. I’m not sure what the purpose of the butter was, except to give it a somewhat crunchy exterior. A good addition but I’d like to see what it’s like without it.

As far as the beer goes, I suppose you can use whatever you want for it. I don’t know exactly how different beers would change the recipe, if at all. I used a New Glarus Spotted Cow as that was what was in the fridge. It felt like kind of a waste of good beer but that’s what was available.

Plain and simple recipe —

1/3 cup sugar
3 cups self-rising flour
1 (12 oz) beer
1 stick of butter, melted

Mix flour and sugar. Pour beer in (carefully as it will foam a bit) and mix until combined. Pour into a greased 9×5 bread pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes. Remove and pour the butter over the bread. Return to the oven and bake at 375 degrees for 15 minutes.

Remove and let cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and let cool completely.

I cut it while it was still warm and it fell apart a bit. Letting it cool completely helped with that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

