Hoisin Steak with Sesame Vegetables

20140213-192325.jpg

I’ll be honest – this was A LOT better than I thought it was going to be. At first I wasn’t going to make it. It didn’t make my list when paging through the magazine when I was meal planning. But it was on the same page as another recipe I was going to make and I kept reading it. Finally, I decided that I would make it. Why not?

But then I had second thoughts. It sounded good but not THAT good. But I had bought everything and what was I going to do with all those radishes??? So, I made it. And it turned out to be a lot better than I anticipated. And, I think what really “made it” for me was the sesame vegetables. Which was a part of the hesitation in making in the first place. But it added a layer of flavor and the cold vegetable went really well with the steak.

Speaking of the vegetables, they reminded me of what I call refrigerator pickles – cucumbers soaked in a vinegar/sugar mixture. Great stuff. And instead of slicing them by hand, and cutting the cucumber on the diagonal, I used a mandolin and sliced them pretty thin. I think that worked really well.

For the steaks themselves, I used the broiler since we’ve got too much snow and it’s too cold to dig the grill out. I alternated a low broil with a high broil to reach the desired doneness. It didn’t work as well with the glaze as it would have on the grill but it was still good.

So maybe something to try again or at least the vegetable part. Those were good.

recipe taken from the March 2013 issue of Cooking Light magazine

1 TSP rice vinegar
1 TSP dark sesame oil
1 TSP soy sauce
1 cup sliced cucumber
1 cup sliced radishes
1/4 cup coarse chopped fresh cilantro leaves
1/8 TSP salt (eyeball it)
3 TBSP hoisin sauce
1 TSP minced fresh garlic
1/4 TSP ground ginger
1 TSP fish sauce
1 (1 lb) flank steak (but I used two rib eyes)

Preheat grill to high heat. Combine vinegar, oil and soy sauce in a medium bowl. Add the cucumber and radishes; sprinkle with cilantro and salt. Toss to coat.

Combine remaining ingredients. Brush half the mixture on the steak. Place steak on the grill and cook for 5 minutes. Turn steak over, brush with remaining sauce and cook for 5 minutes or until it has reached the desired level of doneness.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

