Huevos Rancheros

20140212-170529.jpg

One day, while flipping through breakfast recipes on a cooking app, I came across this one. I’m a bit of a sucker for a good Mexican/Latin American type dish so I saved it to make later. Many days (more like months) later I finally got around to making it one Sunday morning.

It was good but a tad bit disappointing. I was hoping for a “wow” factor with it and I didn’t get it. Maybe it was because I made it in a hurry on Sunday before church. Maybe it was because I only made one – knowing that the rest of the family probably wouldn’t be interested in eating and it was a bit of work. Either way, or for some other reason (too high of expectations???) it didn’t knock me off my feet.

Don’t get me wrong, it was good. It was a nice mixture of tastes. I’m not sure if the eggs are normally fully cooked or a little runny (it says cook until it is at the point you like it) but mine was a little runny and I think it worked fine.

Since I was only making one I had to cut everything back which made frying the tortilla a bit interesting as I wasn’t going to use as much oil as it called for just one. So I just put a small amount (few TBSP) in a small frying pan and let it cook on either side for bit. It was longer than the time listed but since it was not really in the oil had to let it go longer. But it worked. Note – I used canola oil although it calls for a “neutral” oil.

This is an easy recipe to adjust the quantities. You will need –

Corn tortillas
Eggs
Neutral oil for frying (like grape seed)
Butter
Salsa
Refried beans
Shredded cheddar cheese
Chopped fresh cilantro

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Place oil in a small frying pan (about 1/4 cup for 4 tortillas). When oil is hit but not smoking, fry tortillas for a few seconds on each side. Do not let them crisp. Spread 1 TBSP of beans on each tortilla. Set aside.

Put 1 TBSP of butter in a medium skillet over high heat. When melted add the eggs (recipe was for 4). Cook for one minute until translucent. Reduce heat to low and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cook eggs for a few minutes – until they are just not quite as done as you like them. Place one egg on each of the tortillas. Top each with 2 TBSP of salsa and 1 TBSP cheese.

Carefully transfer the tortillas to a baking dish that will hold them snugly (OR put them in a dish like that before adding the eggs, etc.). Place in the oven and bake until cheese is melted, about five minutes.

Remove from oven and sprinkle with cilantro.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

