Cheeseburger Soup

20140129-050106.jpg

What do you do for dinner when it is really cold outside? You make soup!

This was a great soup that everyone loved. Even the the 5 and 3 year olds loved it (it’s cheeseburger – who wouldn’t) although they saw the onion and celery and stuff at the beginning and promptly told me that they wouldn’t like whatever I was making.

My thoughts on this are actually pretty limited. I followed the recipe. I did use a full pound of beef as it recommended and I would recommend it as well. I also used the shredded cheese, Kraft’s Three Cheese Blend, rather than the velveeta. I probably should have diced my celery smaller but it cooked down enough that you couldn’t really tell it was there. Same for the potatoes. Probably should have diced those smaller. I let it cook for about 20 minutes rather than 15 due to the size of the potatoes. And then it went a few more minutes while I did the next step.

A note on the potatoes – once they are all cooked down and you start stirring in other stuff they break down and it helps form a nice smooth soup. This isn’t something that will have a lot of potato chunks (unless you don’t stir well I guess). I made sure to keep stirring to let it come together. Also, I let it sit on low for awhile while I took care of some other things that came up unexpected. I still didn’t stir in the sour cream until the very end. Other than getting a nice skin on it, there wasn’t anything wrong with letting it sit and keeping it warm.

Very good stuff. I don’t think it will freeze well (all the milk and cheese) so you make think about halving the recipe if you need a smaller quantity. I thought about it but I think we’ll be able to eat it before it sits too long.

Cheeseburger Soup

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

