Pineapple Torte

20140124-165837.jpg

This was excellent. Aside from probably needing to let it cool completely and/or put it in the fridge AND probably needing to use just a little bit bigger pan, this went off without a hitch. I did let it cook a few minutes longer than the recipe stated because it seemed really jiggly after the allotted time. Not sure if it really needed it or not but it resulted in the top being browner than it probably should have been. Eating some after it had sat in the fridge overnight resulted in the same great taste but a torte that held its shape. Word to the wise – let it cool/get cold.

I was passed this recipe from my mother, who told me it was something that my grandpa made (not her dad). I believe her but I don’t ever remember him making it. Like ever. Maybe by the time I was old enough to remember something like this he wasn’t making it or he just never made it for us. Anyway, it was an interesting recipe and I, of course, had to make it.

The only change I made was that I didn’t have a can of crushed pineapple so I stuck a can of chunks in the blender and let it rip. I think that turned it into more of a pineapple purée than crushed pineapple but it worked. And maybe was better. I made my own graham cracker crust which is also listed below. Not too difficult and not unlike making the crust for a cheesecake.

One other note – this does take awhile to make. So be prepared to either start early or understand that it will be later when it’s done. And that much later while you wait for it to cool.

Graham Cracker Crust
1 1/2 cups finely crushed graham crackers
1/3 cup white sugar
6 TBSP butter, melted

Mix all ingredients in a bowl until well combined. Press into a 9″ pie pan (a large one would work best – like you’d normally use for any pie. Bake for 7 minutes in a 375 degree oven remove and let cool.

Torte
1 large can of crushed pineapple
1/4 cup sugar
2 heaping TBSP flour
1 heaping TBSP cornstarch
2 cups cold water
2 eggs, separated
2 TBSP sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees (or reduce the heat from baking the crust).

Combine the pineapple, sugar, flour, cornstarch, and egg yolks in a medium saucepan. Add water. Cook over medium heat for about 30 minutes until very thick. Stir often.

Cool and pour into the pie crust.

Beat egg whites, gradually adding the sugar, until soft peaks form. Spread over the torte.

Bake for 15 minutes. Let cool completely.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

