Asian BBQ Pork and Noodle Stir Fry

20140122-052054.jpg

This recipe was adapted – heavily adapted – from the recipe “Chinese wide noodles with BBQ pork and dried mushrooms” found in the March 2013 issue of Cooking Light magazine. Now, it wasn’t my intent originally to adapt it. I was going to make it as written. But after making a few tweaks – one by choice, one by necessity – it changed and snowballed from there.

This called for a one pound pork tenderloin to be marinaded, roasted and then julienned. I choose to use one pound off of a larger pork loin (saving the rest for another use) so, I had to change how I made the pork. I choose to julienne it, then marinade it, then cook it in the wok before starting the rest.

As for the noodles, I couldn’t find “flat, wide, wheat noodles” such as lo mein noodles so I went with stir fry noodles. Getting different noodles made me decide to deviate from how they suggested cooking the noodles (and dried mushrooms) which was to soak both the noodles and mushrooms in boiling water for 30 minutes, then cook the noodles according to the package. I choose to soak the mushrooms according to its own package and cook the noodles as directed. That resulted, I think, in less liquid to add to the pan later but it still worked.

Speaking of the mushrooms, it called for “8 Chinese dried mushrooms such as wood ear” which I couldn’t find but I found some “stir fry blend” which seemed appropriate. An 8 oz package to be exact. Didn’t seem like that much when I bought it. So I soaked them according to the package and saved the liquid. The problem I ran into with the mushrooms was twofold. First, 8 oz of dried mushrooms is A LOT of mushrooms when rehydrated. It seemed like too much. Second, there were a lot of different kinds of mushrooms in there, most I had no idea what it was. So I took maybe a quarter to a third of them, gave them a quick chop and sautéed them before adding to the pan at the end. It may not have been necessary built the package did say to cook them before use. I didn’t consider 20 minutes in warm liquid cooking.

Lastly, I used a TSP of dried, ground ginger rather than 1 1/2 TBSP of fresh minced ginger. I have had bad experiences with fresh ginger, mainly the fact that you have to buy a much larger piece than you need and it’s not something we use often enough to use up before it goes bad. I just added it later in the process as you can’t really sauté ground ginger. Oh, and I skipped the jalapeño.

So, after all this, what was the end result? Well, it was pretty good. Maybe a touch on the bland side. There isn’t much seasoning that goes into it. But it still tasted good. The pork turned really well, so the marinade was good. It was nice and thick, which may have been a function of not enough liquid added in to have the noodles soak up but it was good.

So here is the recipe as I made it. I don’t see any sense in giving you the original recipe as I deviated so much from it. You can try Googling it if you so choose.

Marinade
1 lb pork loin, trimmed and sliced into thin 2″ strips
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 TBSP hoisin sauce
1 TBSP dry sherry
1/2 TSP five-spice powder
1/8 TSP salt
1/8 TSP black pepper

Noodles
1 (12 oz) package stir fry noodles
1 (8 oz) package of dried mushrooms (or find wood ear mushrooms)
2 TBSP soy sauce
1 TBSP oyster sauce
1 TBSP hoisin sauce
2 TBSP canola oil
1 TSP ground ginger
1 garlic clove, minced
1 small onion, thinly vertically sliced
2 cups fresh bean sprouts
3 green onions, cut into 2″ pieces

Mix the marinade in a zip lock bag. Add the pork and marinate for at least 8 hours. So, either put the pork together in the morning for dinner at night, or do it at night for the next day.

Remove pork from marinade and discard the marinade. Cook pork in the wok until just done. Drain and set aside.

Cook noodles according to the package. Soak the mushrooms in water according to the package (about 20-30 minutes). Drain and reserve the liquid. Chop mushrooms. Sauté as needed before adding. Mix soy sauce, oyster sauce and hoisin sauce in a bowl, set aside.

Add canola oil to wok. Add onions and stir fry for one minute. Add garlic and stir fry for 30 seconds. Add pork and ground ginger; stir fry for 30 seconds. Add bean sprouts and green onion; stir fry one minute. Add the reserved mushroom liquid, noodles and soy sauce mixture. Stir in mushrooms.

Mix well and stir fry until noodles are heated through and liquid is absorbed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

