Chicken and Noodle Casserole

20140121-055204.jpg

This is a nice, simple meal to put together that, while basic, provides a good filling meal. I didn’t set out to make this last night but wound up making it from necessity. My original dinner plan was derailed after reading the recipe and finding that I needed to marinate the meat overnight I had to find something else for dinner. And while we had a plethora of leftovers, I also had two uncooked chicken breasts in the fridge that needed to be cooked. So I dug through the recipe box looking for something chicken related. I was looking for one recipe in particular but couldn’t find it so I settled for this. Can’t say where it came from, it just a handwritten card with no notes.

1 can cream of mushroom soup
1/2 cup milk
1/4 TSP pepper
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 cup frozen mixed veggies
2 cups diced, cooked chicken
2 cups egg noodles, cooked and drained (or other noodles – I used farfalle (bow-tie))
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Combine all ingredients except the cheddar cheese in a 1 1/2 quart dish. Bake uncovered at 400 degrees for 25 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle cheese on top.

A few notes – I used a 2 1/2 quart dish as I’ve learned that sometimes the smaller dish gets really full and the extra space is nice. However, the tops of the pasta got a little hard and it may have been better to use the smaller dish. Also, on this I didn’t have shredded cheddar but had an open package of shredded mozzarella that I used. Turned out just fine, in my opinion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

