Cinnamon Sugar Bread

20140112-164859.jpg

This is a great bread, although I would consider it to be healthy in the least bit. This was another recipe floating around Facebook and it was being called Amish Cinnamon Bread. I didn’t call it that, not that I don’t necessarily believe that it’s an Amish recipe but I figured it was just as easy to call it what I did than something else.

It’s pretty easy to put together although I will say that it was hard to get half the batter (1/4 of the batter in each pan). I think I wound up with most of the batter in the pans to start with. But, since you swirl it all around, I’m not sure that it matters that much. Also, as I’ve posted before, I don’t really ever use just plain old buttermilk. It’s not something that I buy as I never seem to use it all before it goes bad. Normally, I go the “sour milk” route which is 1 TBSP of lemon juice plus enough milk to equal 1 cup. Let that sit for about 5 minutes and stir it really well before using it. But this time, I found, buried in our fridge, a container of powdered buttermilk blend. Mix with water and your done. Since it was still good I decided to use it.

It’s hard to say whether or not it made a difference as opposed to buttermilk or sour milk but it was then made with water rather than milk. But it still tastes great and I think it turned out fine. It didn’t come out rounded like a loaf of bread but more flat like a banana bread would.

1 cup butter, softened
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 cups buttermilk
4 cups flour
2 TSP baking soda
2/3 cup sugar
2 TSP cinnamon

Cream together butter, sugar and eggs. Mix the flour and baking soda together. Alternate adding the flour and milk. Pour half the batter (1/4 per pan) into greased loaf pans. I used to 9×5 pans. In a separate bowl mix the sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkle 3/4 of the sugar mix over the batter. Pour the remaining batter into the pans. Sprinkle the rest of the sugar mixture over the batter. Swirl with a knife.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes (mine was about 52). Cool in pan for 20 minutes before removing from the pan.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

