Pot Roast Tacos

20140111-112109.jpg

I have a pot roast confession – as good as pot roast is (and it’s good) I can’t seem to eat it when it’s leftovers. I don’t know what it is. It is just not as good to me the second time around as the first. Maybe it’s the fact there are usually no carrots left but a glut of potatoes. Maybe it’s the fact that it’s not as juicy anymore since it hasn’t sat in the crockpot all day. I don’t know. So I tend to avoid it. Or I slather on the BBQ sauce which helps. A little.

Now I know some of you might be thinking “what’s leftover pot roast?” but with just the two of us and two small kids, it’s hard to finish a several pound pot roast in one sitting. Pretty much impossible. So we have leftovers.

This time around I was trying to think of other things to do with the leftovers. And I thought, why not try tacos? So I weighed out about a pound of the meat, shredded it and put it in a skillet on the stove. I heated it up a bit and then added a package of taco seasoning. I ended up adding an extra 1/4 cup of water as the meat seemed to suck up a lot of the initial water (which was 3/4 cup). Cooked according to directions and served “as usual” in our house (see picture).

They turned out ok. The taco flavor wasn’t that pronounced in the meat but that is something that could be adjusted. If I did this again I might add two packets to the one pound and go from there. That might let the liquid cook down rather than just be sucked up in the meat. It came out much like a pulled pork would. Very dense and mushy (a good mushy). They were also very “heavy” after eating the two tacos in the picture it just sat there in my stomach the rest of the night.

A friend suggested that it might be better as a topping for nachos and I would agree. Although the next day I just mixed up the leftover meat with the leftover refried beans with some taco sauce and cheese and ate it and it was a lot better. Kind of like a taco salad minus the chip part.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

