Chocolate Waffles

20140111-160032.jpg

This morning I decided that I would make waffles for breakfast. As I was opening the folder to find my usual waffle recipe I came across this one. I can’t quite remember if I had made it before or not. I feel like I have but it doesn’t stick out. So I thought now would be a good time to try.

I actually adapted this from the original recipe which is by Emeril Lagasse and is chocolate waffles with fresh raspberry syrup. Basically all I did was not make the raspberry syrup. But I did use two 4 oz baking squares of semi-sweet chocolate which was probably a little less than 1/3 cup.

Putting it together was a bit time consuming as there are several steps and several things you have to do that take some time. I also made sure that the chocolate and the melted butter were cooled (put it in the fridge for a few minutes) before adding it to anything. I didn’t want to risk having the hot liquids ruining something or cooking my eggs. I’ve also started spooning my flour into the measuring cups and leveling it off with a knife. That is supposed to give a more true “one cup” than jamming the thing in the container and scooping it out. It’s a little more time consuming but I think the few things I’ve made that way have turned out better. The next step would be to actually weigh it out but I don’t know if I’m going to go that far.

But it turned out pretty well. A nice chocolate taste that wasn’t too overpowering.

1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 TBSP baking powder
1/4 TSP salt
1/3 cup melted semi-sweet chocolate
2 egg yolks
1 TSP vanilla
1 3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup melted butter
2 egg whites

In a mixing bowl combine the flour, baking powder and sal. In another bowl beat the chocolate, egg yolks and vanilla slightly (I used a whisk). Beat the milk and butter into the egg mixture (again, with a whisk). Pour the egg mixture into the flour mixture and stir until just combined.

In a small bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form. Gently fold the egg whites into the rest of the batter. Pour a waffle maker according to the directions for the waffle maker. I put about 1/3 cup per square (4 squares) on mine. It made almost 4 waffles (16 squares).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

