Lamb Neck Stew

20140103-194857.jpg

My in-laws have sheep so occasionally we will get some lamb. This time around he comes and drops it off and hands me a package of lamb necks. I’ve never gotten them before. I’m not sure what I’m supposed to do with them but I’m told I need to use them soon as they won’t vacuum seal due to the bones poking out. So I pulled out good old Google and started searching. I knew it had to be something like a soup or a stew. After looking a a few, I settled on this one. It was unique enough (lamb neck not withstanding) with both sweet potatoes and curry powder.

So I gave it a whirl. I can honestly say I followed the recipe completely on this one. No changes or adjustments. However, I will say that the recipe is lacking in the finishing if the dish. While I think it is fairly self explanatory, it doesn’t say anything at the end about pulling the necks out and separating the meat. Which you need to do. It was easy to do since they were on top. They did hold together well so there wasn’t a concern with parts of the bone staying in the stew. After taking the meat off of the necks I put it back in and stirred it around to make sure it was all nice and incorporated.

That caused the sweet potatoes to break down and be more mashed rather than chunks which I think worked better and gave it a much thicker stew-like quality. And I left the carrots in nice big chunks which I think was good. They were still soft but now so soft that they mushed in with everything else.

Overall it was good but not great. It was a little spicy (thanks to the curry powder). Not too much for me, but the the rest of the family was a little iffy about it. The lamb is the prominent flavor, as to be expected. If you’re not used to it, it could be a turn off.

Lamb Neck Stew

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

