Chocolate Covered Candied Bacon

20140103-133504.jpg

A week or so ago a friend randomly mentioned that they wanted to try chocolate covered candied bacon. And I though to myself, that I could probably make that. After all, last year I made some candied bacon for New Years. I didn’t think it would be too hard to replicate that and dip it in chocolate. I even had some leftover chocolate from making Oreo balls. I do have to apologize for the post. After reading that post I feel a little embarrassed as to how it is written but it is one of the earlier posts I ever wrote.

As with the last time, I put the bacon on a wire rack over a foil lined pan. This time I started with only maple syrup (pure) brushing it on each side and cooking it for 10 minutes. After that I did a combination of maple syrup and brown sugar. I just sprinkled the brown sugar on the bacon. I cooked it for 5 minutes on each side for a total of 20 minutes.

I then let the bacon cool and cut each piece into four pieces. I heated up the chocolate and dipped each piece of bacon in the chocolate. I put it in the freezer and let it harden. Once done, I trimmed the chocolate to make nice rectangle pieces. More for show than anything else.

It was fantastic. And why wouldn’t it be? After all it is bacon and chocolate. It reminded me of some chocolate bars I’ve had before that were bacon and chocolate. The only downside to it is it is rather time consuming to make the bacon and, since you are only cooking it for 5 minutes at a time, it is very hands on. But worth it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

