Chili

20131227-112550.jpg

I had to go back and look at my previous posts to see of I had ever posted this recipe. But I never found it which leads me to believe I must have forgot to post it cause I can’t imagine not making this at least once in the past year. And, this time I almost forgot to take a picture of it so what you see is the little bit that’s leftover. We had family over Christmas Eve and decided this was a good option and easy to put together.

I consider this a good, basic chili recipe. It’s not fancy but still tastes great. Not that there is anything wrong with fancy, I’ve made some fancy chilis, like this one. I would also consider it a good base for adding to it and making it your own. Over time I’ve tried different additions with decent results. And, other spices can always be added by the individual to their own bowl, just like you can add other toppings (I’m partial to cheese and onions).

But this time it was pretty basic.

2 lbs ground beef
2 (14 oz) cans diced tomatoes
2 (14 oz) cans mild chili beans
1 (46 oz) can tomato juice
2 heaping TBSP chili powder
2 heaping TSP ground cumin

Brown beef and drain as needed. Combine all ingredients in a crock pot. Cook on low for at least 7 hours. I left mine alone and didn’t stir until we were ready to eat.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

