Chicken and Biscuits in a Pot

20131219-055312.jpg

Once again, I’m cleaning out my pile of printed recipes that have sat on the counter, unmade, for what seems like forever. And I can actually say that I think this one has been there for a year. I seem to recall printing it out and feeling like I didn’t have a good pot to make it in, which caused me to ask for it at Christmas last year (and get it). But alas, I never made it. But maybe it’s fitting that it’s almost Christmas (again) and I made it. I’m not sure where I got this from as I must have copied and pasted it to just a word document. Oh and the pot I used was a large enameled Dutch oven.

I made a few tweaks to it. It called for 3 cups of shredded rotisserie chicken which might work if you have some leftover bit simply buying one to make this seemed like a waste. So I bought a package of boneless, skinless chicken thighs and used about 1 1/2 pounds. Probably could have used a bit more. I never measured but I don’t think it quite equaled 3 cups. Obviously, you need to dice and cook the chicken before putting it in the pot. I went with a small dice. That was just my choice. Larger piece might have been nicer but I think it worked fairly well. I also used dried spices so I cut the amount in half. I also skipped the peas. Not because I wanted to, but because it turned out that I didn’t have any in the freezer. Thought I had another package. Oh and a medium onion in place of the shallots.

From a taste perspective the biscuits were really good, nice and savory. I was a bit concerned about them cooking but it was fine. Overall, it was pretty good. Maybe a bit too many mushrooms but that could have been because there was less chicken and no peas. Both of those would have added more to it and would have resulted in a lower mushroom to spoonful ratio.

2 TBSP unsalted butter
2 large shallots, diced
1/2 pound shiitake mushrooms, stems removed, caps diced
1 large carrot, peeled and cut into thin rounds
1/2 cup dry white wine
2 1/2 cups chicken broth
1 TBSP self rising flour
3 cups shredded rotisserie chicken
1/2 cup frozen peas
4 TBSP unsalted butter
1 TBSP chopped sage
1 TBSP chopped thyme
1/2 cup plus 2 TBSP milk
1 1/4 cup self rising flour

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Melt 2 TBSP butter in large, enameled Dutch oven over medium heat. Add shallots, mushroom and carrots. Cook until the shallots and mushrooms are softened, stirring frequently – about 8 minutes. Add the wine and cook until evaporated, about 1 minute. Stir in 1 TBSP flour and the broth. Bring to a boil. Season with salt and pepper. Simmer until thick, about 3 minutes. Stir in chicken and peas.

Meanwhile, in a food processor, combine the flour, sage, thyme and butter. Pulse 5 times. Add the milk; pulse until a soft dough forms.

Using a small ice cream scoop or tablespoon, scoop 20 balls of dough evenly over the chicken stew (or as many as you get). Bake on the center rack of the oven for 25 minutes. Turn on the broiler for 1-2 minutes or until the biscuit tops get golden. Remove from oven and let stand for a few minutes before serving.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

