Buffalo Chicken Meatballs

20131217-054247.jpg

Last Sunday I finally got to sit at home to watch a football game (as I live in an area where my team being on TV is dependent on when the local team plays, causing me to have to go out to watch it) and most of the time when that happens, I feel the need to cook something that is snack-y/appetizer-y related to enjoy while watching the game. And, just the other day I had gone through the stack of printed recipes on the counter (the stack that has been there forever) to see what was there and what I could/should make to get rid them. And this was in there. Perfect.

A few small tweaks, including one that I consider “customizable” for anyone making it and we were in business. Super easy to put together, short(ish) baking time and you have a nice finger food to eat. Paired with some ranch dressing or blue cheese and it is complete. I went with ranch although I always do blue cheese when getting wings, I’ve never been able to adequately recreate what I’ve gotten in bars and blue cheese salad dressing is not the same. Anyway, issue for another day.

I got 30 decent sized (“normal” sized) meatballs out of this recipe.

1 pound ground chicken
1 TSP celery salt
1/3 cup Frank’s Wing Sauce (or your favorite buffalo/hot sauce; as spicy or mild as you want it)
1/2 stick of butter
1 egg
3/4 cup bread crumbs (I use plain old bread crumbs but a lot of people like Panko)
2 TBSP oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small pot combine the butter and hot sauce. Cook over medium low heat, whisking until the butter is melted and incorporated. Remove from heat and let sit until room temperature or about 10 minutes.

Pour oil into a 9×13 pan, evenly coating the bottom. Combine the rest of the ingredients, including the hot sauce mixture and mix until thoroughly combined. Roll the mixture into meatballs (choose your size) making sure to pack the meat firmly.

Place the meatballs in the oiled pan so that they are lined up in rows and are touching each other. Bake until firm and cooked through. I put a digital meat thermometer in one of them on the chicken setting. It took about 25 minutes.

Remove from pan and place on a paper towel lined plate to soak up the excess oil that will be on them from the dish.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

