Cavatappi with Edamame, Peas and Bacon

20131213-050016.jpg

So, I often post about how I might tweak or adjust a recipe but it’s never something that big I still stay true to it in posting about it. Well, this time I wound up making enough changes that I’m going to list it out as I made it. Some of the changes weren’t really “changes” per se but rather it said do this or that and I picked one. Mainly it was:

▪️the type of pasta used, I had some of the cavatappi in the pantry
▪️I used the full box (1 pound) rather than the 3/4 pound it called for
▪️onion instead of shallot
▪️chose the edamame over fava beans – actually I couldn’t find fava beans which was disappointing as I hoped to also buy a nice chianti and, well, never mind
▪️chose the regular peas over English peas
▪️chose bacon over prosciutto
▪️used a half pound of bacon instead of 1 ounce of prosciutto
▪️doubled the ricotta
▪️used grated Parmesan instead of pecorino Romano

Ok, so there you go. Big changes. Some due to what I had, some due to choice. Some of the increases in quantities were due to the fact that I used more pasta. But who only uses 3/4 of a box? What do you do with the rest if the box? Well, you save it but what do you make with 1/4 of a box? Anyway, I think it turned out well. Although I have to say that shelling edamame ranks up there with things like de-veining shrimp and pitting cherries. Why do it the hard way when you can buy it already done? I have no idea if it is sold that way, especially since I couldn’t find it other than frozen in the shells. But I did find that I could squeeze it a bit and pop them right out so it wasn’t too bad. Oh and who knew that edamame was immature soy beans? Not me that’s for sure. But other than the fact the they never really softened (or at least as much as the peas) it wasn’t too bad. The taste was actually kind of bland.

recipe adapted from the Stozzapreti with Fava, Peas and Prosciutto in the March 2013 issue of Cooking Light magazine

1 pound cavatappi or other twisty pasta
1 TBSP olive oil
2 TSP butter
1/2 medium onion, finely diced
1 cup shelled and thawed edamame (or the whole package you buy, my package equaled more than a cup but not much more)
1 cup thawed frozen peas
3 TBSP dry white wine
1/3 cup chicken broth
1/4 TSP ground black pepper
1/2 pound bacon, cooked and chopped
1/2 TSP salt
1/2 cup ricotta cheese
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Cook pasta according to the directions. Drain, reserving 1/4 cup of the water and keep warm.

Heat a large saucepan over medium heat. Add butter and olive oil, swirl to coat. Add onion and cook 5 minutes or until tender. Stir in beans and peas. Increase heat to medium high. Add the wine, cook 30 seconds. Stir in broth and pepper, cook 5 minutes or until beans and peas are tender. I went a little longer here as the beans weren’t really getting tender but eventually I moved on. Remove from heat and add the bean mixture, bacon, salt and reserve cooking liquid to the pasta. Stir to combine. It always says to put the pasta in the saucepan but my saucepans are never big enough so I reverse it. Gently stir in the ricotta and Parmesan. Stir until evenly distributed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

