Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin with Brown Sugar-Soy Sauce Marinade

20131202-050846.jpg

What better than something wrapped in bacon? Not much actually. But aside from the bacon in this dish, the best part was how tender the pork turned out to be. It was fantastic. Maybe it was because it was the tenderloin and not just the while pork loin. Maybe it was the time in the oven. I buy a lot of whole pork loins but not a lot of just the tenderloins by themselves so I’m more used to the entire thing (and I’ve made those where they have turned out really well). It just turned out well, very tender. And, the bacon was fully cooked, even on the bottom where it had sat in the juices. I always have problems when I cook things like this (bacon wrapped) where the bacon doesn’t cook on the side that is down. But this worked well.

The marinade was good as well although I could have done it a little better. It suggests that you poke holes in the meat, after wrapping it with the bacon. Well, I only did that on one side after putting the meat in the pan so the holes were now on the top rather than on the bottom where the marinade was. I tried turning one over but the bacon started coming off and it seemed like it was going to turn into a big mess. So, I just periodically spooned some over the top of the meat while it sat in the fridge. I think it worked ok.

The only thing I didn’t do was after it came out it said to cut it up and leave it in the pan to soak up some of the juices. I did let it sit to rest (always let your meat rest before cutting) but once I cut it I just plated it. While it was good (and almost completely fork tender) a little bit of the juice would have been good. But it was still excellent.

2 pork tenderloins, each about 1 1/2 pounds, cut in half (4 pieces total)
1 pound of bacon (I used a thick cut bacon)
3/4 cups soy sauce
1 TSP onion powder
1/2 TSP garlic salt
1/4 TSP salt
Dash of black pepper
1 TBSP white vinegar
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar

Wrap tenderloin pieces with the bacon. Place in an 8 1/2″ x 11″ pan (or thereabouts). Poke holes in the meat with a fork (all around).

Combine the rest of the ingredients in a bowl and mix well. Pour marinade over the meat and let sit in the fridge, uncovered, for at least two to three hours. I made mine in the morning and it sat for about 6 hours. I periodically spooned the marinade over the top of the meat.

Bake in a 300 degree oven for 3 hours. Halfway through cover the pan loosely with foil to prevent the bacon from burning. When done, remove from oven and let rest for 5-10 minutes. Cut into pieces and let the pieces soak up some of the juices left in the pan (which will be a lot of the juices as the marinade stayed in the pan).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

