Crock Pot Cinnamon-Sugar Almonds

20131130-071951.jpg

You know those roasted almonds you can only get during the holidays in the mall? (At least by us) These are it. They taste just like them.

Although they make a bigger mess than the ones that you get from the mall. Making these in the crock pot I was concerned with something burning to the sides so I put a liner in. That actually worked really well, in the beginning, as it made stirring really easy. I could just pick up the liner and shake it. But at some point, a hole got in the liner and by the end, I had to soak and wash the crock pot anyway.

The only downside was that the bag of almonds I bought didn’t have enough almonds to make 3 cups. That wound up being a bit of a problem as I had an over abundance of sugar. And then, once I added the water at the end, I decided I didn’t have quite enough water so I added a little bit more. I think that was a bad idea as it created a much sticker mess. Once all finished I laid them out on a pan to let them cool. That’s when it was readily apparent that there was too much sugar mixture. Once it cooled I had to break it apart. So, not quite exactly like the ones you get in the mall but pretty close. I think if I had the right amount of almonds and didn’t add in extra water this would have worked out a lot better.

1 1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 cup brown sugar
3 TBSP cinnamon
1/8 TSP salt
1 egg white
2 TSP vanilla
3 cups almonds
1/4 cup water

In a medium bowl, mix together sugars, cinnamon and salt. In another medium bowl, whisk the egg white with vanilla until frothy. Add almonds and mix to thoroughly coat the almonds. Thoroughly spray the crock pot with nonstick spray. Add almonds and sugars.

Cook on low for 3 hours, stirring every 20 minutes. At the end of the 3 hours add the water and cook on low for another hour stirring every 15 minutes. Place a piece of parchment paper on a baking sheet and pour almonds on the sheet. Spread out to make sure there are no large clumps. Let cool completely.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crock Pot Cinnamon-Sugar Almonds

  1. stacyfales says:

    Reblogged this on stacyfales and commented:
    A Must Have For The Season

Leave a Reply

