Sausage Cheddar Balls

20131125-190614.jpg

This was the fourth and final dish I made for the party. And no, there isn’t any bacon in it. I made it partly to have something without bacon and partly since I found it as I was searching for bacon recipes and thought it was interesting. They turned out well, but I let them cook on the higher end of the timeframe listed to make sure they were done and they started to get a little brown. And the bottoms flattened out a bit which made for easy plating but took away from the presentation a bit. The original post talks about how it takes the “meatball” and takes it to breakfast. Not sure I quite agree 100% on the but it does have ingredients most often found in breakfast.

But, they were a hit. One kid probably are half of them himself (something like that – he ate a lot of them). They did have a bit of a kick, even after I halved the amount of cayenne but not enough to make it unbearable. Putting it all together was pretty easy although using the cheese grater and the onion wasn’t all that fun. Next time I have something that calls for that I think I’m just going to finely chop it. It was a bit of a mess. And I never tear up when cutting onions but this time – boy the eyes stung.

I made these first and cooked these first, choosing to have them “rest” in a dish with paper towels to soak up an excess grease. That part worked well but I felt the need to nuke them in the microwave for a few minutes prior to serving. I think that worked ok. No one complained about anything. Especially that one kid.

Sausage Cheddar Balls

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

