Slow Cooker Bacon Jam

20131117-062649.jpg

You’ll see a bit of a theme (BACON!) in the next few things I post. We are hosting the first stop in a “progressive dinner” with appetizers and I decided I wanted to do a bacon theme. This isn’t actually part of that menu, but I found it when searching recipes. And who couldn’t try this? It’s bacon, in jam form!

But enough about that. I like bacon, ok? I will say that I was both disappointed and happy with the quantity that this made. I was disappointed as I thought it would have made a lot more but I was happy that it didn’t since I was worried about having to eat it all. Before it would go bad I mean. Once it was put together, it sat in the slow cooker for 4 hours and 15 minutes before I said “good enough”. While it did reduce, it seemed like it wasn’t really thickening up. But I didn’t want to leave it in there much longer. I will admit that I opened it a few times to check it out and stir it. I was a little concerned about it sticking and the recipe said “or until thickened” so I wanted to see if it would go quicker.

I think this could be made on the stove on a pot if you’re willing to let it sit there for a few hours on low heat. The taste is a little unique, I think due to the balsamic vinegar. At least that is what I tasted. But I think it is still good. Most people in the family thought it was good. The five year old, not so much but the three year old’s response was “mmmm….not bad”. The only adjustment I made was related to the coffee and since instill used coffee,nit wasn’t that big of an adjustment. But since I was making this at night I didn’t have a cup of coffee available so I made a strong cup with some leftover instant coffee we had. So, it was coffee, just not coffee from my perspective anyway.

I did put it in the blender to purée it. While the bacon pieces were nice. It seemed like the best thing to do.

Once this was made it put it in a small jar and flipped it upside down to let it cool off before putting it in the fridge. While this is “jam” I don’t know that this is necessarily a breakfast jam you’d put on toast. It feels a little more like something that you’d just eat on bread. Like an appetizer. Maybe I’ll break it out tonight anyway for that dinner.

Slow Cooker Bacon Jam

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

