Tortilla Chip Casserole

20131113-184608.jpg

I had very high hopes for this dish and while it was very good, it did not wow me. I will admit that I did adapt the recipe a bit, but not enough to make it less enticing. However, there is a lot of potential here. After all, it is a casserole and casseroles can be filed with all sorts of things. I see variations with taco meat, fajita meat, different spices, etc. It can be better.

But, it wasn’t all that bad, I think the biggest issue was the ratio of filling versus all the chips. 4 oz of chips isn’t all that much but I found, using the 11×7 pan as recommended, that it wasn’t filling the pan. So increased quantities (meat and cheese mainly – in my opinion) is needed. The changes I made were leaving out the coriander (didn’t have any), red bell pepper for a roasted bell pepper and a Colby/Monterey Jack cheese blend as there wasn’t just a Monterey Jack blend available.

So, take the recipe below for what it’s worth and try your own.

recipe from the January/February 2013 issue of Cooking Light

1 TBSP canola oil
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 TBSP minced fresh garlic
2 TBSP all purpose flour
1 cup milk (I used whole)
1/2 cup chicken stock
1 TSP ground cumin
1/2 TSP ground coriander
1/4 TSP salt
4 oz cream cheese
1 15 oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
3 cups chopped, cooked chicken
4 oz tortilla chips, crushed
1 roasted bell pepper
1 8 oz jar of enchilada sauce (I used mild)
2/3 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese (I may have used more)
2 TBSP sliced green onions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Heat oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and cook 6 minutes. Add garlic and flour, cook 2 minutes. Gradually add milk and stock, stirring constantly. Bring to a boil. Remove from heat. Add spices and cream cheese. Stir until cheese is melted. I found I needed to put it back on the heat to melt the cheese faster.

Spread 1/2 cup of the milk mixture on the bottom of an 11×7 pan. Layer beans, half the chicken and 2 oz of chips. Top with one cup of the milk mixture. Layer the pepper, remaining chicken and 2 oz of chips. Top with remaining milk mixture. Spread enchilada sauce over the top and sprinkle the shredded cheese on top.

Bake for 30 minutes. Top with green onions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

