Cinnamon Apple Pancakes with Cinnamon Cool Whip

20131111-052604.jpg

When I made the pumpkin pancakes last week, they were mistaken, initially, for apple pancakes. Not from a taste perspective but a look perspective. Not sure why, but it might have been since we have a lot of apples sitting around. And they did look a little different. So, I decided that this week would be a good time to try out some apple pancakes. I used my standard pancake recipe and added in some cinnamon and diced apples. It was a guess on the quantity for both cinnamon and apples. We have a lot of small apples from trees at my in-laws. I peeled three of them but only used two of them. Once I had diced up two of them it seemed to be enough. It was around two cups. For the cinnamon, a teaspoon seemed a pretty good amount.

They turned out well. I should have waited a bit to dice the apples (I did that first) as they started to brown while I put the rest together. But the taste was still good. Using a 1/3 cup measuring cup, this made 11 pancakes which was about 3 less than it would normally make. I attribute that to the apples being in added in. While we still used syrup, I also topped them off with some cinnamon cool whip was just regular cool whip with some cinnamon mixed in.

2 cups flour
2 TBSP baking powder
2 TBSP sugar
1 TSP salt
1 TSP cinnamon
1 1/2 cups milk
1/4 cup oil
2 eggs
2 cups small diced apples

Mix all ingredients together. Cook on a hot griddle for about 3 minutes per side.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

