Apple Crisp

20131107-055345.jpg

While digging through the freezer trying to get a handle on what we had/didn’t have prior to going to the grocery store I came across a bag of apples. Since they were older (let’s not talk about how old) and we have a plethora of new apples this year I decided that we should probably use them up. Apple crisp was the quickest (easiest) thing I could think of to make. So, I set out to find a recipe. We have an abundance of old cookbooks from various rural churches, etc. so I started there. Five cookbooks later I finally found a recipe for apple crisp. Very confusing and surprising. And actually,the cookbook in which I found it was one called “What’s Cooking” from the Manitou Girl Scout Council. I’m not even sure how we wound up with that one. My wife was in Girl Scouts but not in that area.

Anyway, it had an actual apple crisp recipe so away we went. Overall, it turned out ok. The apples weren’t as good as they could have been if I would have used fresh apples but a little ice cream and caramel sauce and you don’t notice as much. I should maybe call this upside down apple crisp as all the others I’ve made have the crust on top. Speaking of the cruise, it was both chewy and sweet (just up to the limit of being too sweet) while having a good crunch.

6 cups peeled and sliced apples
1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar
1 TSP cinnamon
1 TSP salt
1 cup flour
2 1/2 cups oatmeal
1 cup butter (two sticks) softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
Applesauce

Mix the butter and brown sugar in a mixer until combined. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, salt and cinnamon. Slowly add flour mixture to mixer. Mix well. Add oatmeal and mix well. Spread mixture on the bottom of a greased 9×13 pan.

Spread the apples over the crust. Spread a thin layer of applesauce over them. I used maybe 1/3 to 1/2 cup. Sprinkle granulated sugar over the top. Bake at 400 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

