Homemade Maple Syrup, Take 2

20131106-052829.jpg

I had to look back at the blog to see when I had first made maple syrup and it turns out it was quite awhile ago. Four months to be exact. When I first made it I made the entire recipe which produced a lot. And it took a long time to use it all up, and some of the containers were starting to have the sugars crystallize. So this go around I cut the recipe in half. It made a much more manageable amount although I may be making it more often.

Last time I had noticed, at least during the cooking process, that it had a strong honey taste rather than a maple taste. This time I made some adjustments. Actually only one adjustment. I tripled the amount of maple extract (still imitation as that is what I still had). I had wanted to cut the honey in half but forgot. I was too focused on cutting the whole thing in half that I didn’t halve the half if honey. And once it’s in the pot with the water and sugar, it’s a little hard to take it back out. So, we went on.

It did feel like it was thicker by the time it was done and put into the containers. It was also a lot darker as it had three times the maple. Unfortunately, it still had the strong honey taste. That makes sense as proportionally it has the same amount of honey. Next time I’ll have to be sure and cut it back again. Tasting it this morning it did still taste like honey but the maple was more pronounced. Small steps. Here is what I did this time:

4 cups granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup honey
2 cups water
1 TSP vanilla extract
3 TSP imitation maple extract

Combine sugars, water and honey in a large pot. Bring to a boil and then reduce the heat so that it is at a simmer. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes. Remove from heat and let sit for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the vanilla and maple extract. Stir well. Let sit for another 40 minutes, stirring occasionally. Pour into containers and let sit, uncapped, until it reaches room temperature. Refrigerate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Maple Syrup, Take 2

  1. Pingback: Homemade Syrup, Take 3 | A Casual Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

