Pumpkin Pancakes

20131104-062653.jpg

I’ve always regarded pumpkins, and pumpkin related dishes, as a fall thing focusing on October. Maybe it’s the Halloween deal with pumpkins or that the day after Halloween Starbucks rolled out the red cups and Christmas drinks (I’m not complaining mind you). My point is that once Halloween is over, pumpkin seems passé. However, I did think about the fact that pumpkin pie is a thanksgiving meal staple. So maybe it’s not just an October thing. What’s my point in all this? Mi made pumpkin pancakes on November 2nd and it felt weird. I know, I have issues. But on with the food.

I’ve actually had this recipe laying around for quite awhile (surprise, surprise) and just never got around to making it. Not sure where it came from, I copied and pasted it from somewhere. I did double what was there. What I’ve listed below is the doubled recipe.

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar
4 TSP baking powder
1 TSP cinnamon
1 TSP ginger
1 TSP nutmeg
1 TSP salt
2 pinches cloves
2 cups milk
1/4 cup plus 2 TBSP pumpkin purée
4 TBSP butter, melted
2 eggs

Whisk flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and spices into a bowl.

In a separate bowl whisk together milk, pumpkin, melted butter and eggs. After I melted the butter I put it in the fridge for a few minutes to cool it. I didn’t want to add super hot butter to the milk and eggs and risk curdling it. Pour the wet into the dry and whisk until combined.

Cook for about three minutes on each side. I used a 1/3 cup measuring cup and got 14 pancakes out of it. Plenty for us plus leftovers. Serve with syrup and/or, as I did, some cool whip to complete the pumpkin theme.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

