Creamy Linguine with Chicken and Asparagus

20131022-052954.jpg

Usually the big family dinner when we are at my grandma’s is a bunch of somewhat random food. This time the decision was to do an Italian type of meal (although we are not Italian, at least not most of us). So we had a collection of pasta dishes and other food. As others were doing red based sauces I said I would do something with a white sauce. I didn’t want to do a typical Alfredo sauce so I did a little hunting around on the internet I found this one. If you click the link below you’ll see that this is supposed to be something made with shrimp. It is a bit of a long story but I decided to go with chicken.

In order to feed everyone (we had about 18 coming) I doubled the recipe. Since I went with chicken I used about 1.5 pounds of chicken. I pre-made the chicken by cutting it up into thin strips and cooking it with a bit of salt and pepper. It worked out really well to do that from a timing standpoint. It would have been a little more complicated to try and cook the chicken with everything else going on. Putting it together proved a bit difficult as the stove was a bit full. Plus the available pans my grandma had were a bit small. In the end I started the asparagus with the butter and garlic in one pan while I started the linguine in a pot. After the linguine was cooked I drained it and transferred the asparagus to that pot. Everything else went into the pot to finish cooking. After that it was fairly simple to finish. After all, everything gets combined, including, eventually, the linguine. It says to save some of the pasta water to add to the dish if needed. I didn’t save any but found that it wasn’t needed, or at least I didn’t think it was. When I went t put the linguine in the pot I was concerned that there was a lot of liquid and not a “creamy” sauce. It took some time, tossing the pasta fairly regularly, but eventually the pasta soaked up the cream and it became a much more “creamy” dish. The only thing I might change in the future is to cut the asparagus a little smaller. The pieces weren’t exactly bite sized.

It was a good dish. It had a bit of a kick to it from a spice standpoint but it wasn’t overwhelming. I am interested in what it might be like with the shrimp but we’ll need to save that for another day there are plenty of leftovers so we’ll be eating it for awhile.

Creamy Linguine with Shrimp and Asparagus

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

