Butterscotch Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

20130918-051617.jpg

I don’t often create my own recipes. It’s not that I can’t (although i feel like I’m in a constant state of learning) but I prefer to try different recipes and go from there. There are times that I have done that and more often, I’ve chosen to tweak existing recipes.

This is one of those recipes. I had this random idea about melting a package of butterscotch chips and mixing them into cookie dough before baking. Wasn’t sure what it was going to do the cookies (would it even work?) but it sounded like a good idea to me. I know I had some leftover chips in the freezer from something else. A little digging in the freezer found a half bag of butterscotch chips, a half bag of dark chocolate chips and a small amount of milk chocolate chips (amongst other bags of chips).

Looking at the backs of the bags, I settled on using the recipe on the back of the dark chocolate chips as my starting point. The only changes made was to melt the half bag of butterscotch chips and incorporate them into the batter. I did that at the end once it was all together, before mixing the chips in.

I used a small cookies scoop to uniformly divide out the batter. I used air bake cookie sheets and one “regular” cookie sheet. The results were interesting. First, it took about 14 minutes to bakes the cookies on the air bake sheets rather than the 8-10 minutes the recipe stated. On the regular cookie sheet I found 14 minutes were too long, as those turned out a little brown. I also found that I may have put too many on the sheet as they really spread out and touched together.

Even after the 14 minutes they were really soft and hard to to get off the sheets without breaking them apart. Thats not an issue necessarily. These were the type of cookies that come out thin and a little chewy. These were not thick, soft cookies.

From my perspective these turned out great. And they are highly addicting (at least to me). The melted butterscotch gave the cookies a nice butterscotch flavor and mixes really well with the chocolate chips. Although I prefer dark chocolate you can’t really tell that it is dark chocolate mixed in. Maybe it had something to do with the fact that added the milk chocolate chips in as well. But there were not too many of those.

Overall, I would call it a success.

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 TSP baking soda
1/2 TSP salt
1 cup butter (2 sticks) softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar (white)
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 TSP vanilla
2 eggs
1/2 bag butterscotch chips, melted
1 bag chocolate chips (milk or dark)

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Stir together flour, baking powder and salt. In a separate bowl, beat butter, sugars and vanilla until creamy. Add eggs, beating well. Gradually add in flour mixture. Add in melted butterscotch chip mixing well. Stir in chips. Drop by TSP onto cookie sheets. Bake until done (see note above on the timing).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

