Tarragon Chili Marinade

20130917-054514.jpg

Awhile back I bought some fresh tarragon for a recipe and only used a small amount. That is a downside of buying fresh herbs as often I find myself throwing away then herbs as they go bad as I have nothing else to make with them. Luckily, the inside of the plastic container had a recipe for a marinade that would use up this tarragon.

I chose to use it on thin cut, boneless pork chops. I put the marinade together in the morning and let the pork chops sit in it for about 10 hours. This marinade provided a nice flavor that enhanced the meat without being overpowering. I grilled the pork chops using a gas grill – if doing so, be sure to shake off the extra marinade. The oil in it will catch fire and cause you some issues.

The recipe calls for a whole package of tarragon (3-4 oz) which I didn’t have as I had used some (only about a TBSP). I also used a little more garlic than it called for as some of my cloves were pretty small compared to the others. I counted two or three of those as one large one.

3-4 oz fresh tarragon
1/4 cup chili powder
8 large cloves of garlic
1/2 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup molasses
1 cup olive oil
Salt to taste

Place all ingredients in a blender except for oil. Process until smooth. With blender running on low, slowly pour the oil in. Adjust with salt and chili powder as needed. I just added a few shakes of salt from the salt shaker.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

