Tequila BBQ Spare Ribs

20130916-202254.jpg

This is another recipe that I’ve had for a long time and never made – a year to be exact as the printout of the recipe is dated 9/12/12. It’s not like I didn’t have any ribs (4 racks in the freezer) or all the spices (my spice cupboard needs an intervention) or all the other stuff (I had made a point awhile back to buy all the stuff for it). I just procrastinate and find reasons why not to spend 4 hours or so cooking.

Anyway, I decided that Sunday was the day. I would get the, started after the first football game and all would be good for dinner. It sort of worked. The total cook time on these is about 3 1/2 hours. If I was truly going to do it, dinner would be pushing 7 pm or later which is an issue as we normally eat around 6 pm and the kids start bedtime around 7:30 pm. I still did it, I just adjusted. I will say that it felt wrong to be using the oven to make ribs. But, that’s what the recipe said and I wanted to stick with the recipe. It worked out as it rained on and off during the day. Not a good mix for trying to keep a charcoal grill going “low and slow”.

If followed the directions for the ribs except that I only cooked it for an hour once the foil was opened instead of 1 1/2 hours. It turned out fine. The meat was cooked, nice and tender. The meat hadn’t pulled that far back from the bones so it didn’t look typical but was still ok. Some of the edges were actually starting to burn. I only did the broiler for about 30 seconds instead of 1-2 minutes. I really didn’t want a crust on them.

Point of making the ribs. It calls for two racks. You can easily do it with one. Just halve the rub or make all the rub saving some for later. I should have done that. One rack was plenty for us. With two, the whole second rack is left over. Not a bad problem but the fridge sometimes starts to fill up with leftovers.

For the BBQ sauce, I never found the chili it called for. I only went to two stores but I ga up and just got dried ancho chiles. I used one of those that I broke apart (no seeds). Considering it was more of a medium to large chili I added some hot water so it was more like 1/3 cup. It made a lot of sauce. I am a sauce guy but I wound up freezing some as I was the only one that was going to eat it. Again, the fridge starts to fill up with food after awhile. I used three garlic cloves to equal a TBSP. I also let it simmer for about 10 minutes, rather than 2-3.

I was a little disappointed in the ribs from a taste perspective. For all the seasoning, they were a bit bland. The sauce was good, had a little bite to it. Not really spicy but a little kick, mostly from the tequila.

Tequila BBQ Spare Ribs

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

