Lime and Tarragon Aioli with Panko-Crusted Fish Sticks

20130904-201652.jpg

The uniqueness of this recipe is what drew me to this recipe. I had never made an aioli before and the combination was intriguing. Plus, who really likes frozen fish sticks anyway?

I took the advice of the recipe and made the garlic infused olive oil the night before. I cant say how much more garlicky it was but it sure smelled garlicky. I have a smooth surface electric stove and and the garlic and oil sat on the lowest setting for at least 15 minutes. The garlic wasn’t fully submerged so when I took it off the heat I tilted the pot so it was and let it cool. I then poured it all into a glass container, put the lid on it and let it sit until it was ready to use, almost 24 hours later.

Putting the aioli together was fairly simple and turned out better than expected. It had a good flavor and worked well with the fish. As it should I suppose.

For the fish sticks I did use fresh cod and had about a pound and a half rather than just a pound. That wasn’t an issue as I think you just need to estimate the amount of eggs and bread crumbs. Even if you just had a pound of fish you may not need all the bread crumbs it calls for.

I went with a small amount of oil in a cast iron skillet rather than a fryer or anything else. I really want to get a deep fryer but I keep talking myself out of it. I don’t know why, I just cant bring myself to do it. I choose to use canola oil for the frying. I think I may have gotten the oil too hot to begin with as the first ones in browned rather quickly. After that the rest turned out well. The frying times did vary as the sizes of the fish sticks varied. But over all, a good deal.

Side note – the three year old liked the aioli but the five year old didn’t. But in the end both wound up mixing the aioli with ketchup. Blech. I will say that a little bit of the aioli goes a long way. It’s good but it can be overpowering if you have too much.

Lime and Tarragon Aioli with Panko-Crusted Fish Sticks

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lime and Tarragon Aioli with Panko-Crusted Fish Sticks

  1. Pingback: Shrimp Burgers with Garlic-Orange Aioli | A Casual Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

